Book Review – Big Rock by Lauren Blakely

Big RockBig Rock by Lauren Blakely

Honestly, I have mixed feelings about this book, but I want to say what I love first. It was my first time reading a story that was told from the male point of view. I am used to reading female POVs or double POVs, but have never experienced pure male POVs before. You know what? It was awesome. I could not stop laughing. The fact that he was a very successful, handsome man and very proud of himself as well made it interesting to hear his thoughts. The result was over the top hilarious, and I loved it. 😉

“You don’t want a tiny diamond on your finger when you can have three carats. You don’t want a one-dollar bill when you can have a Benjamin. And you don’t want to ride a miniature pony when you can saddle up on a rock-star cock at the rodeo of your pleasure.”

Hearing his thoughts and his reactions on things are my favorite of this story. Haha 🙂

“and I’ve been dubbed adorable. I am not okay with this. This is not acceptable. Charlotte is so getting fucked from behind tonight so she knows there’s nothing adorable about me.”

So, what is the story about? Spencer and Charlotte are the two best friends since college that have now become business partners. They are co-owners to successful pubs in New York City. Aside from being successful entrepreneur, Spencer is also a notorious most popular playboy whose personal life is newspapers’ favorite when it comes to gossips. While Charlotte is a smart, loving woman who is very loyal and honest to what she really wants. Both of them honor their friendship above everything in their lives.

However, their lives change when Spencer asks Charlotte to be his fake fiancé to support his father’s business. And the real problem begins when she agrees to be his “fake fiancé”. Both of them are not ready with the new feelings growing between them. Guilt and fear to lose their friendship that has lasted a very long time put a lot of pressure to keep those feelings behind.

“You’re not supposed to be attracted to your best friend like this. That’s not how it works. I’m probably going to have to get checked into a facility to deal with the amount of attraction I have for you. I’ll ask them to remove it, and they’ll say ‘sorry, sir, it’s spread across your entire body and we can’t take it out’.” 

“We are teetering on something. Something I shouldn’t want. Something I want desperately.” 

This is the moment that I’d been waiting for. I was waiting for something deeper. Something that would make me connect with the main characters, with what they were feeling in the situation that they were in. But I was left hanging. Something was missing. I didn’t feel their chemistry. I was hoping for something that would make my heart beat faster, anxious to anticipate what would happen next, which unfortunately didn’t happen. The scene moved too fast. It was hard for me to understand their decision, let alone to connect with them. I felt like watching a fast-paced movie, where I was fully aware that I was watching a love story but, unfortunately, I could not feel it.

However, if you are in the mood for a hilarious love story that will make you laugh out loud, this book is for you. 🙂  3.5 stars!

About Geybie's Book Blog

A full-time reader sharing my love of books through honest reviews, recommendations, and latest book news. 📚💘❤️
This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

