Book Review – On The Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

On the Island (On the Island, #1)Are you into forbidden love stories? This one is for you. I love something that pushed the envelope, confront the traditional beliefs of what love should be. This story, in my opinion reflects that. The story was about a 30 year old woman, Anna, who was offered to tutor a 16 year old boy, T.J. Callahan at his family summer rental at the Maldives. She eccepted the job, and they  en route to join T.J.’s family in the Maldives when the pilot of their seaplane suffered a fatal heart attack and crash-landed in the Indian Ocean. To survive they had to work together.

Ok. I can imagine what you’re thinking right now. Wait, 16 year old boy? No, this is my hard limit. NO. Wait, as months and years passed by, the teenage boy was growing to become a man. He did not stay 16 forever! Their relationship was not a quick-built one. Miss Graves amazingly led us to experience how they GREW in love. It was a process. Nothing was instant. I could feel how their relationship changed over the time. Miss Graves explained brilliantly the details of what they had been through that led me immerse to their love story. But, he is SO YOUNG? Yep. He WAS. How the story evolves is brilliant that will connect you with their circumstances, feelings, struggles and how they come to have the special feelings for each other.

“I love you, Anna.”
The surprised look on her face told me she hadn’t seen that coming.
“You weren’t supposed to fall in love,” she whispered.
“Well, I did,” I said, looking into her eyes. “I’ve been in love with you for months. I’m telling you now because I think you love me too, Anna. You just don’t think you’re supposed to. You’ll tell me when you’re ready. I can wait.”

Violent tropical storms, the many dangers lurking in the sea, the possibility that T.J.’s cancer could return, and the fear that one of them would go forever and left the other behind were the highlights of their struggles to survive. I cried with them, smiled with them, and was happy with them. This kind of story reminds me why I love reading. I was with them, in their world, in a great adventure. You’ll feel the same if you give this book a chance. 5 stars!

On The Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

About Geybie's Book Blog

A full-time reader sharing my love of books through honest reviews, recommendations, and latest book news. 📚💘❤️
This entry was posted in Adult, Contemporary Romance, New Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – On The Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

  1. I very much enjoyed this book and thought the author did a fabulous job. I don’t necessarily liked the age gap but in this book it didn’t matter at all, which was wonderful.;-)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Favorite List of Student-Teacher Books | Geybie's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Favorite List of Forbidden Love Books | Geybie's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

