Book Review – Beautiful Disaster Series by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1)“And when a Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever.”

I first read this book three years ago, way before this blog. I fell over heels in love with Travis Maddox. Now, three years and countless of book boyfriends later, Travis still one of my greatest book lovers. In fact, imagining the story now again, thinking about him, I realize love him more. I’ve never thought it was possible to love a book character so much. By ‘so much’, I meant he has been one of my all time favorite characters, most favorite book-boyfriend for years. After reading Walking Disaster and A Beautiful Wedding, I love him even more.

The writing is superb. Jamie McGuire manages to make readers feel the story, become part of it, one with the characters and live their lives. We are drawn into the story. The intensity, feeling, chemistry and passion between Travis and Abby are awesome. I was feeling their heartbreak, passionate love. I had to constantly put my ipad down and sob “with them”. I remembered smiling ears to ears when they were in their happy moments. I was living their story.

“You can’t tell me
what to do anymore, Travis! I don’t belong to you!”
In the second it took him to turn and face me, his
expression had contorted into anger. He stomped toward
me, planting his hands on the bed and leaning into my face.
“WELL I BELONG TO YOU!” The veins in his neck
bulged as he shouted, and I met his glare, refusing to even
flinch. He looked at my lips, panting. “I belong to you.”

“I’m not your anything,” I snapped, glaring up at him.
His eyebrows pulled in and he stopped dancing. “You’re my everything.”

Have I mentioned I love Travis? He was just TOO GOOD to be true. The worst of the worst boys that created new meaning to the “bad boy” slogan. He was an ultimate BAD (worst) BOY. However, he was the most tender, loving, sensitif on the inside lover I’ve ever read.

“I know you deserve better than me. You think I don’t know that? But if there was any woman made for me…it’s you. I’ll do whatever I have to do, Pidge. Do you hear me? I’ll do anything.”

“It’s over. Go home.” His eyebrows pulled in. “You’re my home.”

“I’ll never love anyone the way I love you, Pigeon.”

Some of his actions might be considered “too much” by some readers, but the reason he was doing it, as briliantly potrayed by Miss McGuire, made it exceptable, even made him even more special. Ok enough. It’s time for me to talk about things other than Travis.

But it’s hard. 😉

“You said you’re done with me, and I accept that. I’m a different person since I met you. I’ve changed… for the better. But no matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to do right by you. We were friends first, Pigeon. I will always love you, but if I can’t make you happy, it doesn’t make much sense for me to try to get you back. I can’t imagine being with anyone else, but I’ll be happy as long as we’re friends. 
“You want to be friends?” I asked, the words burning in my mouth. “I want you to be happy. Whatever that takes.”

Okay enough. Now about Abby. I hated her at times. I didn’t like how a stupid decision maker she was. And many times I screamed at her, tried to make her make her mind. After along emotional tortured caused by this woman, she finally sobered.. hehe Claimed her man and became the woman “I wanted and hoped” her to be. Girl, you got a perfect man!!!

“I was his exception, and as much as I had tried to fight my feelings, he was mine.”

“I loved him, and no matter what my reasons were to live without him, I knew it wasn’t what I wanted.”

The supporting characters were great. How could you forget America and the Maddox family? They were amazing characters that were brilliantly portrayed. They played their roles perfectly to support the story and make it fun. This story is one of my all time favorites, and the list is not long. I’ve enjoyed lots of stories with very few that stood up: The kinds of stories that I never and will never forget. This is one of them. I don’t have enough words to describe how great this story is. It is AMAZING. Period.

If you love bad boy and college romance, this series is for you. Go get the books! 6 stars (beyond perfection) 

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1)  Walking Disaster (Beautiful, #2)  A Beautiful Wedding (Beautiful, #2.5)

About Geybie's Book Blog

A full-time reader sharing my love of books through honest reviews, recommendations, and latest book news. 📚💘❤️
This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, New Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review – Beautiful Disaster Series by Jamie McGuire

  1. Pingback: Favorite List of College Romance Books | Geybie's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Favorite List of Fighters Books | Geybie's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Favorite Book Boyfriends | Geybie's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

